An urgent call to action

Call Gov. Walz at (651) 201-3400 to let him know Minnesotans want the state's lawsuit to stop Line 3 to continue
A lineup of lawmakers, faith leaders and everyday Minnesotans who oppose Line 3

Excerpted from a June 2018 sign-on letter published in the Star Tribune of Minneapolis


Tweet a message to Gov. Walz


Skip to List of Signers


To Our Fellow Minnesotans,

Soon the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission (PUC) will vote on the Line 3 piepline project proposed by Canadian corporation nbridge.  It would be a new 36-inch tar sands oil pipline sending tar sands oil through the MIssissippi headwaters, sensitive wetlands, valued forests, and indigenous treaty lands on its way to Lake Superior.  

Minnesota’s future matters more than Enbridge’s profit margin

Minnesota has some of the most pristine freshwater in the world.  We are known for our lakes, our forests, our wetlands, our wild rice.  We fish, we hunt, we camp, we farm, we love our outdoors. We should be protecting what we have, not putting it at risk so a Canadian company can turn a buck.

The premise of Line 3 is that we need more oil, that the industry must expand.  That simply does not reflect our actual energy needs as we steadily become more efficient and focused on clean, renewable energy.  Minnesota’s own Department of Commerce (DOC) recommended that the state reject the Line 3 project because Enbridege failed to show any potential Line 3 benefits that would outweigh risks.  This new project would send the carbon pollution equivalent of 50 coal-fired plants into the atmosphere.

We will be left to deal with the effects of a spill.  Enbridge has a terrible spill record, but its project proposal leaves spill liability to Minnesotans.  Meanwhile, Enbridge fought in court to collect $55M it paid in taxes to Minnesota, and is pressuring some of our poorest counties to accept its new project.

Minnesota should respect tribal nations:  Enbridge’s consultation with Anishinaabe tribes does not equal consent.  Multiple directly impacted tribal nations have said no to Line 3. Over 500 religious leaders joined together asking the PUC to reject Line 3.

Clearly Enbridge knows many Minnesotans realize the company doesn’t have our best interests at heart:  at the 11th hour Enbridge offered to remove the old Line 3 for some landowners instead of its original plan to leave it in the ground to rot, and said it will hire Native Americans to work on the new line.  If Enbridge cares, it should put our state’s workers and labor unions to work removing the old Line 3 from private and tribal property and increase its renewables investment.

Administrative Law Judge Ann O’Reilly recommended against the pipeline route Enbridge wants.  The thorough analysis of the DOC showed there is no need for a Line 3 on any route. There are already six Enbridge pipelines in Minnesota.  Six is enough. Our state officials should listen to the DOC and the 68,000 comments submitted by Minnesotans against the project: 94% of written public comments are in opposition to Line 3.

We want the PUC process to work.  We want it to work for Minnesota and for Anishinaabe people.  All of us. The state should do what’s right and listen to the detailed analysis of the DOC and the wishes of citizens and tribes.  It’s time to protect our water and climate for future generations.  Deny Line 3.

Honor the Earth

Photos: Sarah LittleRedfeather of Honor the Earth



Sen. D. Scott Dibble

Sen. John Marty

Sen. Patricia Torres Ray


Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn

Rep. Karen Clark

Rep. Raymond Dehn

Rep. Peter Fischer

Rep. Alice Hausman

Rep. Frank Hornstein

Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein

Rep. Ilhan Omar

Rep. Tina Liebling

Rep. Jean Wagenius


Rebecca Otto, Minnesota State Auditor

Christopher Meyer, Minneapolis Park Board

John Hottinger, former MN Senate Majority Leader

Winona LaDuke, Honor the Earth

Mark Seeley, Professor Emeritus, University of Minnesota*

Kevin Whelan, MN350

Tara Houska, former advisor Native American Affairs for Senator Bernie Sanders

Margaret Levin, Sierra Club North Chapter

Kathryn Hoffman, Minnesota Center for Environmental Advocacy

Mark Schultz, Land Stewardship Project

Julia Frost Nerbonne, Minnesota Interfaith Power & Light

Monica Meyer, OutFront Minnesota

Rev. Curtiss DeYoung, Minnesota Council of Churches

Doran Schrantz, ISAIAH

Jaylani Hussein, Council on American-Islamic Relations –  Minnesota (CAIR-MN)

Ronnie Cummins, Organic Consumers Association

James Reents, Northern Water Alliance

Duana Grage, Women’s March Minnesota

Sharon Day, Indigenous Peoples Task Force

Ann Manning, Women’s Congress for Future Generations

Rebecca Cramer, Northland Sustainable Solutions

Jean Ross, Vote Climate

Dave Logsdon, Veterans for Peace, Chapter 27

Shanai Matteson, Water Bar & Public Studio

Rev. Kelli Clement, First Unitarian Society of Minneapolis

Dallas Goldtooth, Indigenous Environmental Network

Dan McGrath, TakeAction Minnesota

Veronica Mendez, CTUL (Centro de Trabajadores Unidos en la Lucha)

Emilia Gonzalez Avalos, Navigate/Unidos Minnesota

Francisco Segovia, COPAL (Comunidades Organizando el Poder y la Acción Latina)

Corrine Horowitz, Main Street Alliance in MN

Ellen Hadley, Indivisible North Metro

Scott Ickes, Minnesota Indivisible Alliance

Sean Goseiwski, Alliance for Sustainability

Jamie Harvie, Institute for a Sustainable Future

J.T. Hainer, Duluth for Clean Water

Pam Dowell, Itasca County Indivisible

Vicki Andrews, Grand Rapids Area Earth Circle

Kristin Dooley, Women Against Military Madness

Louise Erdrich, Auth – Birchbark Books and HarperCollins

Steve Morse, Executive Director, Minnesota Environmental Partnership

Carin Motz, Jewish Community Action


Supported By,

Michael Brune, Executive Director, Sierra Club

Bill McKibben & May Boeve,

Annie Leonard, Greenpeace USA

Patrick McCully, Rainforest Action Network

Wenonah Hauter, Food & Water Watch

Stephen Kretzmann, Oil Change International

Jennifer Krill, Earthworks

Lydia Avila, Power Shift Network

RL Miller, Climate Hawks Vote

Lauren Windsor, American Family Voices

Janet MacGillivray, Seeding Sovereignty

Kevin Hart, AFN Manitoba Regional Chief, Treaty Alliance Against Tar Sands Expansion

Jane Kleeb, Bold Nebraska

Dave Davis, 350Kishwaukee

Deni Matthews, Save Our Illinois Land

Gina Ibarra, SE Side Coalition to Ban Petcoke

Dave Bleakney, Canadian Union of Postal Workers/Syndicat des travailleurs et travailleuses des postes

Carolyn Raffensperger, Science and Environmental Health Network*


*Organization listed for identification purposes only